RSS

New Talent Comes to Wright on Health

27 Feb

Things are about to get a lot more fair and balanced here at Wright on Health. It is my pleasure to announce that Nicole Fisher will be blogging in this space on what will hopefully be a regular basis. Nicole Fisher is the Senior Policy Director at Health Systems Innovation Network where she does health economic and policy analyses generally focusing on Medicare, Medicaid and health reform. She also is a current PhD student at the University of North Carolina in the Department of Health Policy and Management and writes on a variety of health care topics for several think tanks and websites.

Before pursuing her PhD in health policy Nicole obtained her Masters degree in Public Policy from the University of Chicago and her undergraduate degree from the University of Missouri. Her health care and policy work at those institutions had an emphasis on underserved populations, women’s and children’s issues.

The great thing about Nicole is that her views are to the right of my own. I’m excited about what that means for the blog. First, I hope it will attract a more diverse audience, and will prompt readers to get more engaged with comments. After all, Nicole and I don’t see eye-to-eye on most things, so one of us is likely to ruffle your feathers a little bit–or at least make you think about things differently. I think that’s important. People (myself included) have a tendency to surround themselves with others who think like they do, and that can be problematic. To embrace that, we’re thinking about doing a count-counterpoint series among other things, so stay tuned. Come back tomorrow, when Nicole’s first post is scheduled to appear, and spread the word using the various links to Facebook, Twitter and other social media to get the public engaged in these important issues.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “New Talent Comes to Wright on Health

  1. dorothy thompson

    March 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    After giving birth at a Catholic non profit hospital, the holy poor people saviors, threatened me with having my newborn premature baby placed in state’s custody, foster care, because he was born without an ability to pay. (No insurance) I was forced to get on my knees and beg for my own child. I tried to hold this hospital accountable, but, I could not get anyone one to help me. I filed a Pro Se lawsuit that was dismissed. The things that the justice systems put me through was surreal. The hospital’s team of learned lawyers were afforded all the courtesies in their favor. because my case did not make it in the media, I could not get the NAACP and the ACLU refuse to help me. My question is, how do you hold a bigger than God Catholic company, accountable?

     

Leave a Reply

 
