RSS

Do a Good Thing Today

16 Dec

Today is my 30th birthday. It’s also getting really close to Christmas. Many of you who read this blog know me quite well. Others of you are regular readers, but complete strangers to me. Still others have happened to this space today for the first time, seemingly by accident. I’d like to suggest to all of you that you do something generous today in honor of me. I realize that that sounds a bit arrogant, but I’m actually hoping that it will result in something quite selfless. The fact is, I don’t need anything, so the best gift you could give me–and yourself–would be to do something good for someone else.

You might make a contribution to a charity of your choice. It could take the form of a cash donation or an in-kind gift. You might just take some items down to your local Goodwill store. Maybe you could spend a day in service at a soup kitchen, or go through the drive-thru at McDonald’s and pay for your order AND the order of the car behind you. Pay for someone else’s (or several someone else’s) coffee at Starbucks. Give a dollar (or ten) to someone begging for change. Tell your spouse how much you love them. Spend some extra time with your kids. Hold the door open for someone. Let a car into traffic in front of you. Smile at others. Ask someone how their day is going and sincerely listen to their answer.

If this sounds a little goofy, maybe it’s because we’ve gotten to a place where this type of kindness and generosity has become so foreign as to feel uncomfortable. Where we’re worried how others will react, or what they’ll think of us. It doesn’t have to be that way. In fact, it can be far, far better. The point is, do a good thing today. And, then, as your gift to me, leave a comment to this post letting everyone know what good thing(s) you did. Feel free to remain anonymous. It’s not a contest, just a thought I had to make the passing of my twenties more meaningful by brightening up the world a little bit. I hope you’ll do more than consider it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Do a Good Thing Today

  1. Anonymous

    December 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I loved your post and your ideas about giving! This is something I've had to work on as I've aged–learning to give more without passing judgment. So, I have done many of the things you've mentioned; pulled over to a man sitting on the curb at Walmart and handed him $10 and another one standing in the median with a dog on a leash. Man! The look on their faces was worth a 1000 words, but the warmth in my heart even more so!! I picked 2 angels from the Salvation Army angel tree this year and bought each a coat & bike. I think it's every kid's dream to have a bike! This Saturday, I will participate in distribution of the Angel gifts going to 3000 children. Unfortunately, many more volunteers are needed as there are many, many open slots! Giving does a heart, body, and soul good!! It relieves stress and lifts depression! Give without expectation, and I promise one will receive blessings in return!

     
  2. Anonymous

    December 16, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I'll do that. Happy holidays, Brad. BTW, I enjoy your blog and miss it when you're away.MF

     
  3. Anonymous

    December 16, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I donated $30 to the Durham Rescue Mission to help them serve Christmas dinner this year.

     
  4. Anonymous

    December 17, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Happy birthday! You know, some people give all year long. It's very important to tithe and like my family, we also have various charities we support.We usually give 20-25 % of our income away annually. If everyone took care of others regularly, we wouldn't need so much government assistance or hand outs! Or we could give a lot less and let the government take or tax our income so we can't give as we see fit.

     

Leave a Reply

 
