RSS

Diminishing Apathy

01 Sep

Thanks to those of you who have sent emails or posted comments in response to my Apathy post. Hearing nice things never gets old. Also, a few of you made some good suggestions that I plan to follow up on in the next week or so. These include changes to the format of the blog that will hopefully encourage more commenting. I welcome additional suggestions about the blog:

  • What do you like about it?
  • What do you dislike about it?
  • What one thing would you change if you could?

Others told me that they don’t comment because they “are still learning” or “don’t feel informed.” Granted, one of the primary purposes of this blog is to reach out to a more general audience and help them to understand some of the complexities of health policy and health services research and their implications. So it makes me happy to know that there are people reading the blog who fall into the category of “here to learn.” But I don’t want to always set the agenda for the material to be covered. So, I want to turn it over to you all for a while:

  • What questions do you have about health policy?
  • What do you want to know about our health care system?
  • What are your concerns about health care reform?
  • What do you want me to write about next?

Okay. With that housekeeping out of the way, I have received a few more responses to the opportunity cost multiple choice question. Nobody has the correct answer yet. Not even by guessing. One of the reasons for that might well be, as one commenter indicated, that I did not explain what opportunity cost is all about. Please excuse my oversight in that regard. Sometimes I take things for granted that I ought to explain. And so, in the interest of space, I point you to my good friend Wikipedia to tell you what opportunity cost is all about. Give that a read and then try to answer the question again (or for the first time). Oh, yes, someone also asked me why they should care about opportunity cost. The answer to that is simple: So you learn how to think through your actions and stop spending your time and money unwisely.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Diminishing Apathy

  1. Jan Baer

    September 1, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Your writing style is probably this blog's greatest asset. Not many people have the ability to write about complex issues in terms easily understood, especially if they are heavily involved in doctoral studies.My biggest concerns about health care reform are (1)that it will be undermined and eroded by opponents, if not actually repealed; (2) that people will simply refuse to enroll in health coverage, skewing the whole program and costing participants more, just as mandatory auto insurance has spawned surcharges I must pay for "Under-insured" and "Uninsured" motorists. It is common for drivers to enroll in auto insurance just long enough to renew their plates or license, then drop it immediately afterward. Will this be the case with mandatory health insurance? (3) that private health insurers seem certain to raise rates by huge amounts in order to establish a very high baseline for subsidies.(4) I live in Indiana, home of WellPoint's headquarters. What happens when states like as mine fail to cooperate, even as they skim those subsidies from the federal government?I know these very questions are being hammered out even as I write, yet obviously many loopholes and trip wires will be overlooked.

     
  2. 潇湘渌水

    September 2, 2010 at 2:21 am

    I'm a master student from China, I majored in health economics and am very interested in various effects of health policies in China and United States, as I think both countries' health systems have some similar flaws.As s result, I found your blog and subscribed it through google reader and read it everyday. I appreciate your perseverance on writing this blog and never-ending thinking and reasoning about health care problems, though I don't agree some viewpoints. I prefer more competition and market mechanism, because I live in a society that terrible government do terrible things. As far as I explore, many health and healthcare services problems in China origin from the mess of government policies and the ineffective government agencies. But it doesn't mean that I have no idea about the values of government mechine. I like also more open perspectives. Thank you for reflections and thoughts from this blog.

     
  3. Phil Childs

    September 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I enjoy your blog. I also enjoy your writing style. I can't say I agree with you on every point, but I read with an open mind, realizing you're more versed than me in the topics you cover.Concerns about health care:1) Huge health insurage rate increases. (I hear the arguement that "we're already paying for the uninsured", so if we are, why should the rates increase?)2) Lack of trust in the government to manage efficiently (I'd sooner trust in private sector competition – even though it's not perfect)3) Long waits, restricted treatment flexibility, …4) Reduced research funding(no… I won't add "death panels"… since they "kind of" exist today – just different people making the choices of which procedures are covered by the insurance)

     

Leave a Reply

 
