RSS

Apathy

30 Aug

Today’s the first day of what I anticipate is my last year of school as a student. There’s still a lot of work to be done before that becomes a reality, however, and that work takes time. So does writing this blog, which I’ve been doing for more than a year now. The thing is, I’m not a professional blogger. In fact, even though it’s usually used pejoratively, I’m a professional student. I don’t get paid to blog–well, one day those Google Ads will make me $100 and I’ll get a check, but that hasn’t happened yet. On the other hand, I do get paid to be a student at this level, thanks to a fellowship. But the fellowship doesn’t go on forever. I say all this to say my time, like your time, is valuable. Which brings us back to the idea of opportunity cost.

On Friday, I posted a quick piece on opportunity cost, with a multiple choice question that I wanted readers to answer. As of 4pm on Sunday, only two people had, and both of their answers were incorrect. So, I’m extending the deadline to post a response to the question. Perhaps a week is long enough? Maybe I’ll post the answer around Labor Day–maybe I’ll never post it, because too few people commented. You see, the thing is, I’ve asked explicitly for feedback before, with the same lack of response.

As the author of this blog, that gets to be disheartening. On the one hand, I use this blog for my own benefit–as a way to get my name “out there”, as a way to journal my thoughts, and for the satisfaction of having created something that gives back some measure of what I have been given–but on the other hand, a blog is less about the author and more about the readers, especially those who leave comments, who interact with each other, who debate ideas, ask questions, and push the dialogue further along. But, for some reason, most people seem content not to comment in this space. I’m not sure why, but I thought I’d try to encourage it very directly.

To those of you who do comment regularly, thank you. Please continue to do so. I appreciate it. To the rest of you, please consider getting a bit more involved in the conversation. Tell me if you think I’m wrong. Tell me why you think you’re right. Remain anonymous if you wish. Yes, I moderate comments, but only to keep spam, vulgarity, and the like off the blog. I’ve never refused to publish someone’s comments because they disagree with my views. I’m not interested in stifling the conversation, just guiding it to make sure it remains respectful and constructive.

I want this blog to grow and thrive, and I have put a lot of work into getting it off the ground, but I can’t do it on my own forever. I need your help to make this a community. That means telling friends, family, and co-workers about it. It means posting links to the blog on your own webpages and adding a link to the footer of your emails (ask me for the code and I’ll happily send it). And it means becoming an active participant, rather than a passive recipient. Leave comments about the posts and respond to the comments of others. I hear my own thoughts in my head all the time. I (and others) want to hear yours. And, oh yeah, thanks for reading….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Apathy

  1. Jan Baer

    August 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I read your posts every day and appreciate the time you take to submit thoughtful and well-written ideas. Since you had not defined "opportunity cost" I did not hazard a guess at the correct answer to your question, though I think the cost of the Clapton ticket must still be $0. The website is a bit clumsy in that comments do not appear directly below the post; this discourages conversation. I have access only to very slow dial-up; this makes commenting a time-consuming venture since I must wait for each page to load. It would be nifty if it could be more streamlined.

     
  2. Jared Sinclair

    August 31, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I'm an ICU nurse. I read your blog via Google Reader on my iPhone, avidly. This is my first comment. Speaking for myself, I refrain from commenting because I feel like I have little of substance to add to the conversation. I'm here to learn about things that affect my work as a nurse, yet are never covered in nursing school. I recommend your blog to my friends because of the clarity of your writing. It would be disappointing if you stopped.

     
  3. Anonymous

    August 31, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I venture into unseen ground and submit a comment, as this post sparked various thoughts. I have been a subscriber to your blog for approximately 4 months and enjoy many of your remarks. Preliminary, I note, I get the blog via email and am not a frequent “blogger”. If I hit reply, is that the same as “commenting”? Personally, I would benefit and possibly be more apt to respond, if I was more familiar with the process to do so. The first time I visited the actual blog in months was this morning. Again, maybe that is my inexperience with blogs. If I post a comment does it show up in the email? Or does it simply show up on the actual blog? Also, I was unaware that people respond at all. If I was aware of the dialogue, I might have been more inclined to voice my opinion. I believe opportunity cost is the cost of choosing one thing over another. Here there is no actual cost to see Clapton. However, by choosing Clapton you are “missing” Dylan and are fully willing to pay the 50$ to see Dylan. Thus, the opportunity cost of going to the Clapton concert is 50$. Best,Matthew J. Moisan, Esq.

     

Leave a Reply

 
