RSS

Jonathan Cohn Wraps Up The Treatment

20 Apr

A short while ago, I wrote a piece explaining why, at least in part, I do what I do. A little over a week ago, Jonathan Cohn, author of Sickhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=wrighto-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0060580461&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr and reporter for The New Republic, shed some light on his efforts through TNR’s health care blog “The Treatment.” Though we’ve emailed a few times, I’ve never met Cohn, but he is a close friend of some of my own. I and countless others appreciated the work he did–what he accomplished–through writing for The Treatment. Now that health reform is law, The Treatment has come to an end. I have to say that it’s bittersweet. I’m just glad that there will be other outlets for his work.

In his farewell post, he explains why The Treatment was created, but also tells us what he learned on the beat–everything from “We couldn’t stop intellectual saboteurs from introducing new lies into the debate…but…we were able to expose those lies just a little more quickly…” to “Even at the very highest levels of power, people frequently operate with limited knowledge and perspective.” He even recounts a story of an exhausted Hill staffer who accidentally ate her earring instead of her muffin as she rushed to get ready in the wee hours of the morning. It’s a great piece, and you should read it.

Of course, I’m new to this game. My expertise isn’t in journalism, blogging, or the like, but rather in health policy and health services research. Not that he ever turned to me as a source, but where Cohn would rely on someone like me for the details of a particular aspect of the health reform legislation, I often rely on Cohn’s writing to help me simplify my arguments and connect to a wider audience. Lord only knows how often I’ve linked to him on here. So, from my small corner of the blogosphere, I just wanted to acknowledge excellence and tell you, if you don’t read his writing, to start doing so.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
