RSS

I Wish I Lived In Maine

04 Sep

I’ll get right to the point: I wish I lived in Maine, so that Olympia Snowe was my senator. Snowe is a Republican from a very blue state–and that shows: Her record in Congress actually demonstrates that she is to the left of Democratic Senators Kent “Co-Ops” Conrad and Max “I Heart Chuck Grassley” Baucus. She is a member of the “Gang of Six” and it looks like she may be the only and best hope for some sort of bipartisan bill to come out of the Senate Finance Committee.

Her constituents know this. On Wednesday, 45 Mainers bombarded her office to deliver some 35,000 messages in support of health reform. Obviously, they think that Snowe has the ability to bridge the partisan gap and get a health care reform deal done. I’m not entirely sure of that, but I sure wouldn’t mind it if she threw her hat in the ring. I think everyone–and especially those lucky Maine residents–should be inundating this woman’s office with letters and emails demanding that Congress pass meaningful health reform before the end of the year. After all, she appears to be a Democrat in Republicans clothing, so she should be easy to convince.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 4, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
